197-8

1980

Agency details

Agency number: 30

Agency title: Faculty of Architecture (1950 - 1993) / Faculty of the Built Environment (1993 -)

Start date: 1950

End date:

Creation: Council meeting 8th May, 1950 (resolution 54)

Abolition:

Administrative history

note:

The Faculty of Architecture was established by Council on 8th May, 1950 (resolution 54). Under Dean F. E. Towndrow the Faculty included just the single School of Architecture and met for the first time on 25th July, 1950.

At the meeting of Council on 13th September, 1993, the name of the Faculty was changed to the Faculty of the Built Environment (resolution CL93/73g).

The list of Deans below was compiled for enquiry in 2011. Dates listed as years are approximate only based on Calendars and should be double-checked.

1 July 1950 - 30 June 1963 (on a leave of absence from 3 December 1962) -

Professor Frederick Edward Anthony Towndrow

3 December 1962 - 31 December 1963 - Professor John Maxwell Freeland (Acting Dean)

1 January 1964 - 1 September 1972 - Professor Henry Ingham Ashworth

1972 - 1984 - Professor Gareth Roberts 1984 - 1985 - Professor Eric Charles Daniels

8 July 1985 - 11 July 1986 - Professor Richard Clough 1986 - 1995 - Professor Arthur Raymond Toakley

1996 - 2002 - Professor Chung-Tong Wu

2002 - 2008 - Professor Peter Murphy (initially as Acting Dean)

2008 - present - Professor Alec Tzannes

Unregistered preceding agencies:

Unregistered succeeding agencies:

Superior agencies: Period of relationship

47 Professorial Board 19t - 1988

2 Academic Board 198 -

Unregistered superior

agencies:

419

Period of relationship Subordinate agencies: 258 Department (1949 - 51) / School of Architecture & Building (1951 - 1971) / Archit 1950 1997 266 School of Building 1971 1997 265 School of Town Planning (1971 - 1995) and Urban Development (1995 -1971 1997 254 School of Landscape Architecture 1978 1997 422 Graduate School of the Built Environment 1978 1997

Department of Industrial Arts