Agency details

Agency number: 11

Agency title: Faculty of Law

Start date: c. 1964

End date:

Creation: Council meeting 13th July, 1964 (resolution 64/137)

Abolition:

Administrative history note:

The creation of the Faculty of Law was approved by Council on 13th July, 1964, under resolution 64/137. On 24 January 1966, the foundation chair of Law was created, with the apointee to also become dean of the faculty (resolution 66/15i). On 8 September 1969 Council appointed Professor John Halden Wootten to this position (resolution 69/155), with classes being offered from 1971.

Originally the Faculty did not incorporate any Schools, but this was altered by Council on 24th January, 1972 (resolution 72/10) with the formation of the School of Law, which was co-extensive with the Faculty. The inaugural meeting of the Faculty took place on 9th February, 1971.

In 2013, administered by Dean Professor David Dixon, the Faculty was comprised of the School of Law, the Australasian Legal Information Institute, the Diplomacy Training Program, the Social Justice Project and nine Centres.

Unregistered preceding agencies:

Unregistered succeeding agencies:

Superior agencies:		Period of relationship
47	Professorial Board	1964 - 1988
2	Academic Board	1988 -

Unregistered superior agencies:

Subordinate agencies: P		Period of relationship
230	School of Law	1972 -
232	Curriculum Committee of the School / Faculty of Law	1975 - 1988
231	Teaching Committee of the School / Faculty of Law	1975 - 1988
156	Law Library Advisory Committee	1978 -
233	Curriculum Review Committee of the Faculty of Law	1978 -
228	Aboriginal Law Research Unit (1981 - 1986) / Aboriginal Law Centre (1986 - 1	997 1981 -
353	Kingsford Legal Centre	1981 -
635	Centre for the Study of Law and Technology	1984 - 1992
497	Human Rights Centre	1986 - 1997
392	Communications Law Centre	1988 - 2005
560	National Children's & Youth Law Centre (NCYLC)	1993 -

Agency details